Summer is Official

May 17, 2009

I know my summer has officially arrived once I have gotten my first sunburn. My daily moisturizer has SPF 20 built in but apparently my mind was elsewhere yesterday and about half way through my day at work I realized that I had forgotten to put it on. Needless to say once I got home from the zoo my face was sufficiently red and crispy. The cherry on top is that I was sitting under a slatted awning so there are silly patches of sunburn-free skin. It was pretty sore last night but luckily it has blended itself in today and is turning into a nice early summer bronze. At some point I really need to accept the fact that I really am a pale Norwegian and that I will always be a little red no matter how well prepared I am.

Work is going well but it doesn’t really give me many hours. Apparently a lot of people quit or ask for time off as the summer goes on so they hire a lot of people up front. The downfall is there are lots of people to share minimal hours in the beginning of the summer. For the next week I am only working two days. The responsible part of me knows I should be upset because it means I am not being able to save money but the rest of me is glad to have time to do something else. Spring has finally arrived in Chicago and I want to take full advantage before the humid summer shows its face. I have classes starting again in two weeks so I have a little bit of time left to do all the silly things that always get pushed aside for assigned readings. I am thinking I am going to need to do some reading on the beach next week and even out this sunburn as well as take advantage of my free admission to museums and go see some sweet stuff.

In other news, I have started working with a new personal trainer. It’s a long story as to why I switched but I think it is a really good new addition to my journey. He is amazingly hardcore and I am pretty sure I love it. I seriously never knew I was capable of sweating that much. I think it is good that I feel sort of nervous walking to the gym before meeting with him because I know he is going to kick my butt. He is really good at talking into my ear while doing something really hard and almost taunting me. For instance, today I was doing this crazy arm set and he just kept saying “I know you don’t want me to help you. I know you want to do it on your own. I wonder if you can go to 15 and not stop at 12.” Through this LONG process of losing weight I have really started learning how stubborn I am. While being stubborn can be a bad thing, in this case it has been quite positive. I will never turn down a challenge. I always want to go the farthest I can and the hardest I can. I want to always prove I am capable of something more. I am really optimistic for my time with the new trainer and think I am going to make a lot of progress this summer.

Finally, my interview back in Des Moines went well. Unfortunately, the program is funded through grants so they are unsure at this time how much funding they will receive for this next year. Once they know how much funding they receive, they will be able to know how many people they can hire. The need is great so it all comes down to money. Keep your fingers crossed for me. I am getting anxious and just want to know.

Leave a Reply

