Senioritis?

March 11, 2009

I am not really sure if one can get senioritis in a masters program that is only 12 months, but if it IS possible, then I definitely am suffering. Don’t get me wrong, I am still totally in love with everything that I am studying and really do love all the students and professors I get to be with each week, but I am so tired of being a student. I really like what I get to read but the fact that it is required of me makes it instantly somehow less desirable. I also have to say that I am getting incredibly tired of all the papers. While I know I will undoubtedly have to write at times throughout my career, I won’t miss the nights before a paper is due attempting to write 8 pages of creative, flawless statements of profound clinical interpretations. Social work is so much easier to just do rather than imagine.

My semester is done in six more weeks. That is really insane to me. Thinking about the end makes me cringe thinking about all the papers and reading I will need to complete in that time. Yuck. My internship will also be done at the same time so I suppose I could say my summer starts in six weeks. I am working hard at not dreading the summer. I found out that I didn’t get a job that was really pumped for this summer. I am already over the disappointment and have once again begun the job search. It is sort of an ego-bust to be 24 years old and near the completion of a masters and having to find a summer job. I have two more classes to take this summer on Tuesday and Thursday nights from 6-9 starting in June for ten weeks. Since my summer starts at the end of April, I have all of May, June, and July free for a job. If anyone knows of anything, please don’t hesitate to send me suggestions. Tonight I applied to jobs at a zoo. I am definitely putting my social work to good use. Animals need therapy right?

Leave a Reply

