Sicky Ms. Sickerson

February 22, 2009

I have to say being sick alone makes one feel quite pathetic. I think it was Wednesday night that I was feeling sort of off but just decided I had had a long day and was tired. That day, my internship site was being audited by the Illinois Board of Education. They were making sure that our school was indeed following all the stipulations in our grant. While the board member was quite nice, it still caused some heightened levels of anxiety. I went to bed Wednesday night and woke up Thursday morning with a head full of pressure.

I found myself some cold medicine and attempted to go about my day. I went to a meeting, class, and even a training session at the gym and trying hard to focus on what was to come. Friday morning I woke up and it felt like I had been hit over the head with death.

I have been battling a fever, cough, runny nose, headache, achy bones, etc all weekend long. I would have a fever, break it, have a fever break it. While being sick is enough of a pain, being all alone is pretty much the worst. I had to get my own tea and medicine. I had to throw away the used Kleenex and cough drop wrappers. I had to fluff my pillows and rub my back.

Feeling sorry for me now? I hope so. While I wouldn’t really want anyone to be around me for fear of them getting sick, it would be nice having someone around telling me that I will soon get better. Luckily I have had by comforting kitty Addy by my side. Yesterday I found myself in a bit of a coughing attack and Addy came over and put her paw on my chest and nuzzled into my arm and looked up at me. I decided it meant she was concerned about me.

Luckily as I type this I feel as I am finally on the mend. I haven’t had a fever today and although the cough is still there, the aches are going away. I am hoping tonight’s sleep will be enough to get me through this last week before spring break.

Leave a Reply

