Weekends at Last

February 11, 2009

For much of my time here in Chicago I have felt like I am not living the “normal” life for a 24 year old. I don’t know what it’s like for other grad students out there, but I am in a constant state of needing to read/write a paper/research, etc. It honestly never ends. The second I feel I am making good progress, I look at a syllabus and realize I have so much more to go. I never seem to be able to read every word but I try and read as much as I can since ultimately its my future clients that are relying on my knowledge.

I think what sets my studying social work apart from other grad programs is that in addition to taking four full-time classes, I am also working almost thirty hours a week at my internship weather it be at the site, in a meeting, in transit, etc. When you put two and two together, it leaves a minimal amount of time free for much else especially after I try fitting in my eating, working out, and sleeping.

I think I make it worse on myself because even though I could probably give up some time to go do something and try and put off some of the reading, most of my classmates are reading or doing something else for school. I seriously love my classmates and often learn as much from them as I do my professors, but we all just seem so busy. Many of them have to find time to actually hold a paying job while managing the reading and internship time. Needless to say, my social life has been nearly non-existent since living here.

Fortunately, February has presented a nice change. This past weekend Nathan, a good friend from college, was in town visiting people and we were able to go to a movie and out to dinner. It was nice to leave the books for a while though I did catch myself thinking about how much reading I was going to have to make up for the next day.

This coming weekend Dana, a friend from my summer in Minnesota, is coming to town and we are heading to the House of Blues to see Matt Wertz and The Alternate Routes. I was trying to remember, but I think this will be the fourth time I have seen Matt Wertz, and the third time at House of Blues. I am really looking forward to it, especially because I think Dana is an even bigger fan than me.

Although both of my social “outings” are with people that don’t live here, I will still bask in the opportunity to not read for a couple of hours.

Leave a Reply

