I have a feeling…

January 20, 2009

While my family and close friends support me (hopefully!) in my choice to pursue social work, none of them are involved in the field in any personal way. This doesn’t really bother me, but as I get deeper and deeper into the field and become more familiar and comfortable with the theory and jargon, the more complicated it is to share with those that I love what it is that I am really learning and practicing.

During my time in grad school, I have found myself connecting more and more with other social workers and desiring for someone that could be a mentor for me as I navigate my way through the crazy world of social service. I have made some pretty amazing contacts thus far and they have provided a lot of comfort for when I just need to talk about what is all going on in my crazy head and validation for my heart that I really am in the profession that is best for me.

I think for most social workers, we are driven by this almost radical passion to help others and make life better for as many people as possible. Unfortunately, there are rules and policies that often prevent us from being able to help in the way our hearts feel is best, not to mention the limitation of time and energy. It can get really frustrating, but hopefully our passion will remain strong.

I was sitting in class today and found myself being perhaps the most engaged and connected I have ever been. I was LOVING every part of the conversation and laughing and reflecting and being challenged, the list really could go on forever. I think the best way to describe is by saying I was in throws of an intellectual love affair. I seriously couldn’t get enough of it. Just in the matter of a couple of hours I found myself thinking, “If I am even half the therapist she is, I will be ok.”

You know how when you are meeting a new friend and you realize you have a similar sense of humor and a similar upbringing and likes and dislikes and there seems to be no question that they will be a really great friend….I felt that with my professor. I know this all seems sort of creepy right now but she and I got to talking after class and I just have this feeling that she is going to be able to be someone that I will be able to connect with throughout my time in this field and that she will give me honest and helpful answers while still making me laugh and keeping me grounded.

I can’t wait till class next week.

Leave a Reply

