Home For Now

April 17, 2006

The rest of my time in Greece was really wonderful. We just had some lazy days at the end and spent our time just walking around and slowly seeing what we could see. We did a lot of sitting at cafes and just watching life pass us by. On Saturday we had to check out by 11 so after packing up we headed back to the National Gardens and just enjoyed the sun for one more day with our Frappes and Greek Salads. We headed back to get our luggage and flew out of Athens at 9:30. We got into Oslo at 12:30 but then had to sit in the airport till 8:30 Sunday morning when the first train to Lillehammer was available. It was a long night with very little sleep. 

It was so nice coming back to Lillehammer. I love how this has become a home for me. As more and more familiar things came into view our spirits got higher and higher. There is still some snow on the ground but it went down dramatically from where it was when we left and although it is colder than Greece, there is a nice warm sun and blue skies and mountains which makes me happy. Yesterday we spent the day welcoming everyone back and starting to hear stories of everyones trips. It felt so good to be back with our Norway family. I really missed them and it felt good to be all together again.

As I went to bed last night I realized I had been up for 41 hours. I don't really know how I didn't crash earlier but everything was just so exciting and apparently I had fumes that just kept pushing me along. I think today might be harder to get through.

I don't think I will comment much on what spring break really meant. I learned a lot about myself and what I am capable of and how I handle unknown places and situations. I love the experience I had and totally love all the lessons I learned.

We have class tomorrow and then leave at 5:20 Wednesday morning for another 12 days to Sweden, Russia, and Hungary. Between now and then I need to do some laundry and try and write some papers and get some energy back. Wish me luck.

Love to all!!! 

Leave a Reply

