Oslo Weekend in Review

March 6, 2006

I just got back a couple of hours ago from my weekend in Olso. While we were only there for a short while, I managed to pack in a ton of stuff.

We got there around noon on Saturday and by 1 we had walked ourselves to the National Resistence Museum. It was a really amazing museum all about Norway’s role in WWII. I found myself just walking around sort of speechless, jaw-dropped, just trying to take in as much as possible. Much of it had an English description under the Norwegian but unfortunately, and obviously, many of the original pieces were in Norwegian only so it was hard to experience it completely but I still really liked it.

Then half of us headed over to the National Museum of Contemporary Art. Talk about testing your ideas of what is art. There were so many crazy things there. Many of the pieces I didn’t really get but I sort of loved my confusion with it all. It was one of those moments that I just had to remember exactly where I was and what I was doing and love life for just being what it was at that moment.

Next stop was the Nobel Peace Center. We thought that it was in the City Hall so we headed in that direction. We were wrong on the location but now we were at the City Hall and there was an exhibit of hats that had opened just that day so we decided to take that in as well because why leave. We quickly found the Peace Center and were completely blown away. If you ever need inspiration go to this museum. I sort of can’t put into words what this place was yet. It was hard to come face to face with so many wordly problems but at the same time super inspiring and it sort of made me want to go tackle every problem that I have had even the least bit of interest in.

It was now dinner time and we were tired and so it was time to trek back to the hotel. Along the way we passed the University of Oslo, the Parliment, and the Oslo Cathedral. It was a long day but we got to see many awesome things.

This morning some of us woke up early and bundled up and walked the 25 minutes to the palace to see what that was all about. It was pretty cool and we got to see the guards do their march which was fun to watch. We then met the group at the National Gallery. Inside I was met by Monet, Picasso, Van Gogh, Cezanne, and it goes on and on. I have to pinch myself sometimes to remember just who I am and what the heck I am doing here.
Our last stop for our Oslo weekend was the Munch Museum. He is Norway’s pride and joy when it comes to art. One of his most famous paintings is “The Scream”. You saw that?….you ask. Yes. He blew my mind. I could look at his stuff forever. My heart is captured right now by a piece simplistically titled “Puberty”.

Puberty

This picture of it does no justice to what it was like in person. It is hard for me at the moment to simplify my thoughts in order to describe what I like about this painting. I think there is so much emotion in this piece and I am just drawn to here and want to figure her out.

Many pictures will be posted and life will continue with many smiles and many reflections for me. Hope life is well for everyone. Love to you all.

No Responses Yet to “Oslo Weekend in Review”


Leave a Reply

