A Small Reflection

February 28, 2006

Visiting the church ruins today couldn’t have come at a better time in my life. My faith has been on one crazy road this year and now more than ever I have a drive to continue to challenge and feed that faith. Life is funny though because while I have this strong drive I find myself in a place where faith and church-going seems almost non-existent.

Coming to one of the few countries with a State Church I thought for sure church would be a big part of the culture but very few people go on Sundays. It is taught in the public school systems but the buses don’t start working till 4pm on Sundays. Baptisms and Confirmations are bigger than graduations but there is no such thing as an Ash Wednesday service. The election of the bishop is huge public event but there is no such thing as youth groups. Confused yet? I know I am.

I thought that my journey into this new faith was something very personal and something I was only doing on my own. However, it has been more than a month now since I have worshiped in any sort of way and I miss it. I miss it badly. I don’t really feel complete right now.

What I would give to sing a hymn with other voices around me, say the Lord’s Prayer, take communion.

Funny how it takes loosing things to realize just how important they really are to me.

One Response to “A Small Reflection”


Leave a Reply

